Chinese Fire Drill

Without lions, I am a monster

Without theft , I am no lover

Pilfering in the night

Busking for kisses

And its right

That you left

You should never trust an artist

Especially not a writer

I frenched you with a silver tongue

I felt you warm with my hands and lips

I gave you my lungs

The heat of my breath on your candied neck

Softly pulling your ear lobes between my tongue and teeth

Not unlike the promises I made to keep

Without a lion’s heart I find no room for sleep

Again you have found me looking to the sky

Without you I am nothing

Without you I can be anything

Without love you won’t have anything to give away

Joshua Tool – 03/21/13

Leave a Reply

